Mayor’s Arts Awards honour outstanding members of Vancouver’s arts community


The awards celebrate the contributions of honourees and emerging artists in the categories of studio and performing arts, support of the arts, and lifetime achievement.

“This year we recognize Mayor’s Arts Awards honourees and emerging artists who have all contributed immensely to the vibrancy and global influence of our city,” said Mayor Gregor Robertson. “Vancouver is home for so many remarkable artists and we need to honour and celebrate them, especially in this 25th year of our Public Art Program! On behalf of all Vancouverites, I extend our gratitude and congratulations to these extraordinary artists.”

Award recipients are selected for their significant contributions to their respective disciplines, as well as for leadership, innovation, and support for Vancouver’s cultural community over the course of their careers. Each honouree in the studio and performing arts categories is invited to select an emerging artist in their discipline who demonstrates the promise of the next generation.

The 2016 Mayor’s Arts Awards honourees (emerging artists indicated in parentheses) are:

Studio Arts:

Sharon Kallis (Rebecca Graham) for craft and design

Meeru Dhalwala (Arka Lwin) for culinary arts

Lorna Boschman (Sebnem Ozpeta) for film and new media

Betsy Warland (Joìniìna Kirton) for literary arts

Dana Claxton (Carlos Colín) for visual arts

Instant Coffee (Krista Belle Stewart) for public art

Jay Hamburger (Jerilynn Webster aka JB the First Lady) for community engaged art 

Performing Arts:

Emily Molnar (Lexi Vajda) for dance

Jocelyn Morlock (Marina Hasselberg) for music

Jan Hodgson (Ruth Bruhn) for theatre

Support of the Arts:

Hassan and Nezhat Khosrowshahi for philanthropy

Mary Jane Morita for volunteerism

The Georgia Straight for business support

Amy Nugent for arts board member of the year

Lifetime Achievement:

Artist Gordon Smith